I know what needs to happen next

Day 84

photo by Wilson Alvarez

photo by Wilson Alvarez

I know what needs to happen next.

A movement towards the wild lands.

The wild lands that lie, under lock and key,

fenced in and patrolled,

state game lands, and state forests and parks, national forests and national parks, the greenbelts along the waterways, the hedgerows and abandoned lots.

A reclaiming, a taking back, an

occupation of the mountains, and forests, and fields, and marshes, and deserts, and rainforests, and wetlands that belong to all of us,

the landless ones,

the people of the earth.

I need to pack up my son and husband,

and dogs, and loved ones, and friends,

and move out,

build dwellings, plant trees, and gardens, care take the land until my hands are blistered and the rivers run thick with fish again.

And we need to train armies,

armies of wild ones who listen to the calls of the jays and know what they say,

who can read messages painted in opossum paw prints,

and disappear between the trees.

I know what needs to happen next.

It’s what I’ve been waiting for my whole life, training for this past decade,

coming to know bit by bit.

As long as they keep the land under lock and key,

keep us off of it with threats of fines, imprisonment, death,

they keep us under lock and key,

as sure as if our ankles were shackled to the ground.

But it’s going to take so much heart, courage,

fearless fighting,

to cut ties with the familiar.

and I’m scared.

But I’m trying to get brave.

Thank you for listening,

Love,

Natasha

photo by Yank

photo by Yank

2 responses to “I know what needs to happen next

  1. I can’t wait to see you & do some daydreaming & scheming together.
    Love you.
    And I love the pictures Wil has been doing, and I really love the photo posted today by Yank. Thank you both for these images.

Leave a Reply

