Show me how the pieces fit

Day 100

(And yes, this photo was taken today, in the freeze of winter)

photo by Wilson Alvarez

photo by Wilson Alvarez

I wish I could make you happier.

Grant all your wishes,

make you see the sparkle, see the shine.

Erase all your sadness,

troubled memories,

bad dreams,

pain.

I wish the world was better for you,

not so hard, tedious,

difficult to survive.

The draining mundane of everyday tasks.

I wish we lay down under the stars each night,

our only blanket each others arms,

pointing out planets in the dark of the new moon.

Remember the time we slept in the debris hut? The first time?

We woke up with leaves in our hair, our mouths,

barefoot, laughing.

Under the rustling beech tree leaves,

tawny, like the coat of tiny baby deer.

You were happy then, in the forest,

soft, new,

eyes open,

like a child.

You are my gift and my failure.

I’ve always wanted to save you,

to fix that which is broken.

But all I can do is hold you,

tight,

barely breathing,

chest to rising chest,

face the world alongside you.

Show you how the pieces fit.

And you, you hold in your cupped hands,

my life,

my world, my heart.

Show me how the pieces fit, my love.

I love you.

I’m sorry.

Please forgive me.

Thank you.

 

2 responses to “Show me how the pieces fit

  1. Thank you for this beautiful post. i just read it aloud to my beloved at a time it was needed.

    • So glad it was just the thing. We can all be like life jackets to each other in these hard times, I think. Sharing our experiences is to throw a line to someone else who needs it. Thank you for reading!!

Leave a Reply

